Newsletter Unsubscribe Woes…

Hi fountain pen friends,

Just a quick update here. We know many of you have been receiving “unsubscribe” emails from our newsletter, without intending to do so.

We are so sorry for this, it’s nothing you did wrong. This has been a bug that’s been going on ever since we moved to our new site in late 2015, and has truly reared its ugly head in the last week.

Long story short, we have two databases of email addresses – one through our store (gouletpens.com), and the other through our newsletter provider (MailChimp). The two are supposed to speak to each other – if you sign up on the store, you’re added to the newsletter list, or if you unsubscribe through email, it should update the record in the store. But for some reason, this database sync hasn’t been working properly, and it’s been elusive to our developers to figure out where and why it’s happening. Sometimes the unsubscribe email comes through after you place an order on the store; other times (this week especially) it is at seemingly random times.

Our web developers have been actively looking into it, especially this week. The high volume from the Dark Lilac release seemed to cause more issues. And unfortunately in my attempt to help (I ran an action to re-sync the two databases yesterday), I may have made the problem worse, as apparently thousands of you got the unsubscribe email in the last 24 hours or so. Sigh.

We’ve escalated the issue again to the developers, and they’re working on it. The most unfortunate thing is that if you get the unsubscribe email and try to click to resubscribe through it, it’s only updating the information in one place, and the issue may happen again!

The best thing you can do, if you’ve gotten an unsubscribe email and you didn’t intend to be unsubscribed, is to send an email to newsletter@gouletpens.com. Please include your full name and email address. We’ll be able to add you back to both databases from our side, and hopefully it won’t happen again. And if it does, please let us know too so we can try to figure out why it’s happening!

Again, we are so very sorry for the inconvenience we’ve caused you. We’re doing everything we can to try to restore everyone back to the list and prevent this from happening again. We so very much value your newsletter subscription and your support of our business.


Thanks,
Rachel Goulet

2017-10-06T19:00:15+00:00 April 30th, 2016|A Goulet Life|0 Comments